Thursday, December 3, 2009

Thirty Minute Delivery / Accident with a Motorcyclist

Pizza companies nowadays commit themselves to fast delivery. Normally within thirty odd minutes or the buyer gets a free regular pizza voucher to be used in their next purchase. Indeed, they do deliver their promise and pizza in thirty minute.

But wait! Behind the scenes :

Their despatches are seen riding their motorcycles around recklessly like dogs unleashed loose after ages of being chained up. You can literally see them jumping red lights, zig zagging through traffic like nobody's business. They jump lights ALL the time. Yes, i repeat, not most of the time, but all the time!

They think that they and their vehicles are so small, that they need not obey the law. Whenever they see a red light, they look left, right, and cross without waiting for the light to turn green.

This doesnt just apply to pizza delivery guys, but also a large handful of regular motorcyclists. They think they're the king of the road eh?

When we drive our cars, cross the green lights, we just pop one of them and mow them down unintentionally. And who's fault it is? Our fault?

The motorcylist will obviously tell their fellow police officers that they got their priorities and should be given way to. They'd also tell their fellow officers that we were the ones that jumped the lights.


The same thing happened to me once somewhere in PJ, when I got hit by a motorcyclist and it so-happened to be my fault? HAHAHAHA!!

Please refer to the below picture :



As the picture illustrates, I was making my way out of the junction, crawling popping my head out to see if there are cars from either side of the road. It was jammed, as per yellow boxes showed. Fortunately, one car gave way to me.
So I slowly drove out, still looking out for cars. The next thing I knew, BANG!
A motorcyclist went straight into my front right fender.
He went onto the other side of the road overtaking the whole jam and wanting to make a right turn into the junction where I was coming out from.


He was uncooperative and said it was his 'jalan utama', as in it was his right.
So yeah, we both went to lodge a police report, and the cop blindly said that it was my fault, jumping to conclusion without even investigating. There were even skid marks on the wrong side of the road from the tracks of the motorcyclists tires.

The cop said 'siapa jalan terus?', as in, 'who was the one going straight?'.
I told the cop that he was on the wrong side of the road and he replied to me and said that the motorcyclist can go on the wrong side of the road anytime as there were dotted lines.

I was like, 'WHAT!? So you are saying that he was on the wrong side of the road and therefore causing the accident, and you, saying that it isnt his fault!?'
He just replied and said that it was my fault for coming out of the junction and not looking out for oncoming vehicles.


Where is the law? Where is the initiative to do thourough investigations before issuing summons!?



After the arguement it was already in the afternoon. I took off with an agreement that I will pay for the motor's damages which I estimate to be RM200-300 or so. The guy was cocky and wanted his bike to be repaired all the way in Sentul, which was inconvenient for me to go to, to pay the bill. At approximately 5pm, he told me that the damages are a whopping RM500-600plus. Breakdown was like; bent fork, bent rim, bent this bent this broken this that, fender, and shits.
So I told him, meet at the police station. The cop issued me a summon. Says that the motorcyclist will claim against my insurance.

I wasnt happy and therefore took to to somebody's aunt who has a position in the BAR council on the following day. She got the Deputy Public Prosecutor to review the summon, summoned the cop to his office, and spoke to the cop. End of the day, the summon was cancelled and my insurance was untouched.

However, I'm still not satisfied that the motorcyclist got away so easily, and the lazy cop is still holding onto his job.


End of Story

No comments:

Post a Comment